Come on heatwave, don’t you know I’ve got a flamingo picnic to go to!

Well folks I don’t know what the weather is like in your neck of the woods but here spring keeps almost happening but then winter steps in and kicks spring to the curb for another week. In protest I made a Tilly and the Buttons Picnic Blanket Skirt in the most tropical fabric I could find.

I have made one of these skirts before but never blogged it, it’s super easy but I still messed up on the waist measurement and had to fudge it. Don’t ask how, I think because it’s the only thing you have to concentrate on my brain freaks out and does a mental fart resulting in waistband errors. Never mind, it’s fixed and it’s totally my most favourite thing. Ever. Who doesn’t love a flamingo?

I have a lot to thank Tilly for actually, though she doesn’t know, it was her blog that inspired me to start sewing again. I had a bit of a sewing burnt-out after uni but it’s always such a treat looking at her blog and the Picnic Blanket Skirt is such a lovely tutorial, it’s as close to instant sewing gratification as you can get.

We had to take these pictures inside as the weather, as we all know is misbehaving, but with the help of an artfully placed sheet and my super boyfriend we got there in the end! He now has his own website, should you wish to check it out click here.

I got this fabric on a trip to Brighton last month, it was such a beautiful, fun day to celebrate a friend’s birthday and obviously there was some fabric shopping  sneaked in. Fabric Land is all kinds of amazeballs, as is the Brighton Sewing Centre, there are more shops but those were the only two we made it to. My friend convinced me I needed this fabric in my life and boy was she right! Cat you are awesome!

So there you have it folks, all we need now is some actual spring weather so we can all go on some picnics! I’m going to leave you with a picture of me busting a move mid picture because, well why not?

_MG_0157

7 thoughts on “Come on heatwave, don’t you know I’ve got a flamingo picnic to go to!

  1. Natalie B says:

    Love this! I made a make up bag out of the same fabric, definitely want more to make something to wear with it now! Bring on the sunshine 🙂

Leave a Reply

