Swish Swoo

I love a good circle skirt, it always makes me feel a bit fancy swishing around in one, so as you can imagine wearing this one is all kinds of amazing. I’m not sure if it’s the print or the drape of the jersey but this one feels like the swishiest (I’m going to pretend that’s an actual word) I’ve ever owned. Admittedly it is a bit tricky to navigate on a windy day but I had to wear a kilt to school and that particular garment knows how to catch a breeze, so I’ve grown accustomed to holding on for dear life. It certainly doesn’t make me love it any less and the heat we’ve had it was lovely to wear.

This lovely fabric was gifted to me by my boyfriend’s Mum when we’re visiting back in May. It took me a while to figure out what I wanted to make out of it, was it going to be a dress or a top or goodness knows what. Then I remembered how much I loved the skirt on my Betty Dress soΒ why not use the skirt pattern for an elasticated skirt made of win!

I’m not entirely sure I went about the elastic waistband in the right way, sort of fudged it a bit but it worked. I cut some elastic 10% smaller than my waist measurement and a piece of fabric that was double the width of the elastic plus seam allowance and attached it the same way you would a neck binding. Then I top stitched in a fairly large zig zag stitch, if I was doing it again I might try and figure out a way to support the waistband a bit more as there is quite a lot of weight to the skirt. I’m not 100% sure I need to this but time will tell as I wear it.

So there you have it! I whipped the whole thing together in a couple of hours and it felt like such a productive thing to do before my shift at work. Β I’m going to leave you with the last picture of this glorious print and no I have no idea what I’m doing!

Have a super weekend lovelies!

IMG_20150624_172440

8 thoughts on “Swish Swoo

Leave a Reply

